top of page

PNG Trip Recap {Weeks 1-3}


Hi all! It’s been quite a while since my last blog post and as many of you know, the past two weeks have been full of new experiences for me! Instead of writing little tidbits here and there on Facebook, I thought you all would appreciate a blog post recapping the highlights of my trip so far.

Well…first off, I got to go LA, California. I have never been to California before, or seen the Pacific ocean. Both were beautiful, by the way! We got to hang out with some of Andrew’s family for a while when we had a layover and it was great to stretch the legs before getting on our long flight from LA to Brisbane, Australia. We went to a museum called "The Getty", and it was HUGE. There were several gardens and exhibits to explore.

After a fourteen hour flight, we landed in Brisbane, Australia. Holy cow. So amazing.

I GOT TO HOLD A KOALA.

I had always wanted to visit Australia, and so this view was in a way pretty sentimental and I couldn’t help but be in awe that I was actually there.

On our way to Ukarumpa, I got to sit co-pilot! I got some pretty great pictures! My jaw literally dropped when I saw these views…how beautiful and amazing is this country?

When we arrived in Ukarumpa, there was a whole group of people waiting for all of us. Andrew and I excitedly got off of the plane and met his family at the end of the air strip.

Our faces sum up our emotions at the moment. After two days of travel, we had finally arrived! As Andrew hugged his family, I couldn’t help but be filled with so much love and joy. It was one of those moments I wish I could live in forever…all of us together, smiling, laughing, hugging…it was spectacular.

In the time I’ve been here, there are so many things that remind me of where I was in Honduras. The climate is roughly the same, as we are in the highlands as well (highs in the 70s, lows in the 60s, and not very humid). Just like in Honduras, the roads are not paved in the highlands, but are instead clay and rocks. The vegetation is roughly the same (bananas, strawberries, fresh veggies, coconuts, palm trees, pine trees). In a way, I feel comfortable here because of my trip to Honduras. However, there are cultural differences here that I have had to learn. For instance, when a woman is speaking to a man, you do not generally look them in the eyes as it can be a turn on. This is difficult, as I have been taught to look people in the eyes at home and at work. Another difference is their language (obviously). There is the trade language of Tok Pisin, which everyone speaks, but then there are also village dialects that are different. So far, I have been able to pick up some of what people are saying, as Tok Pisin is fairly similar to English, but I still need a lot of help with translation. I have not tried speaking much except for greetings and names of food. But hey, I know how to say good morning, good afternoon, crocodile, chicken, sweet potato, and food in Tok Pisin so I guess that’s a start. (:

I’ve been able to be a part of the High School’s annual Banquet for the Juniors and Seniors. It’s basically like a Prom, but there’s no dancing. Instead, there is a theme (it’s a secret until the actual night), there are booths set up with different activities to do before dinner, and then they have a fancy dinner. While dinner is being served, a play is performed by the parents of the seniors. One parent of each senior dresses up like their child and is that child in the play. I think it’s such a fun and personal event…it’s just so fun!

A couple other experiences I’ve had while here is jumping on a trampoline in the pouring rain with Andrew and going gumi-ing. Gumi-ing is essentially a long lazy river ride at an amusement park…except you’re in an actual river with actual rocks and sticks and trees pointing out of the river. If you are unfamiliar with lazy river rides, basically all you do is sit in an innertube and let the current of the river lead you. It’s pretty great because you don’t really have to do anything to move. Overall, gumi-ing was really fun and I suggest if you ever come to Ukarumpa you should do it as well.

I have gotten to try new foods here as well as just plain old good food. The fruit here are phenomenal. The bananas are not quite as soft as the ones in the States, but the flavor is richer. The same can be said about the pineapple and strawberries as well..holy cow…so, so good. I probably could have eaten an entire tub of strawberries…they were so tiny and delicious. I also tried fresh coconut and I am proud to say I actually really love it. The taste and texture remind me a bit of raw almonds—which is amazing. When I get back to the States I’m planning on buying a whole coconut and comparing the taste and texture to see if I still like it.

Putting bananas on pancakes…even here in PNG. :D

Another fruit I’ve tried and like are cherry guavas. The outside reminds me a bit of a tiny pomegranate. They’re so cute! The inside is a bit mushy and seedy, but the taste is sweet and a bit sour (depending on if you eat the skin).

I’ve also been able to try PNG yams—kau kau. The skin is purple, but the inside is white. The texture reminds me a bit of a white potato, but sweeter and less strarchy. They are not as sweet as the orange ones you get in the state, or as mushy when they’re cooked, but I think they’re really good! I’ve also tried the orange kau kau and they are less sweet and around the same texture as the white ones. I’ll post a picture in another post once I get one.

The veggies here are just plain amazing…especially the avocados.

On homemade whole-wheat bread…yessssssss

I’ve also enjoyed plenty of delicious dinners.

Chicken kwarma curry with pineapple (AHHH SO GOOD)

Puk puk (crocodile)…yes…I tried crocodile and it tastes amazing. It’s probably on my list of top five meats! It reminds me a bit of pork in taste and in texture…so good. We also had roasted orange kau kau and zucchini.

Not only has the food been incredible, but the views have been spectacular as well.

But, most of all, the company as been the best part of this trip. I’ve had the privilege to enjoy coffee on the veranda with Lori and Steve several times, which is quite enjoyable.

Spending time with Daniel has been great, too. It’s like I have another little brother! :D We’ve had the opportunity to wash dishes together and play Wii together. I also got to see him go to his Senior Banquet, which was so fun!

And most of all, I get to spend time with this guy in the place he grew up…and it’s so wonderful.

And you know…being engaged is pretty cool, too. <3

More on that later…


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page