top of page

Weekend Stuff {8/28-8/30}


My first weekend at college for the year has now passed successfully. I moved in on Friday and still have a couple of things (aka my printer) to unpack and get settled before I officially feel good about the dorm...well...my other roommates need to move in, too. Ok. So once they are moved in I will feel good about the dorm.

I got to move in early because I am a mentor in my dorm, which is very exciting! Friday morning, I got up earlyish and made some pancakes for myself and finished some orders for my almond butter business (check out Anna's Almond Butter...shameless plug). We were planning on leaving at 12:30 but that didn't happen because I was hungry and needed lunch and I didn't get around to it until 12:15. Soo...we left a little before 1 and made it to school a little before 2 and started moving everything in.

When we got there, I found these beautiful flowers (plus a card) waiting for me.

Aren't they beautiful and isn't he so sweet??

After we got everything set up, my family left and Rachel and I unpacked a little bit before meeting all of the other mentors and RAs for dinner (we had Moe's which is basically Qdoba).

Later in the evening, we had a Leadership Consecration Service where we were all anointed with oil and had a time of worship. It was a great way to kick off the year!

Got this Snap from Katie. ): I miss my kitty!

Saturday morning, I got up and had some pancakes and coffee.

I walked around for a while before Glenn and the rest of my family showed up to help him move in. We went to lunch together before I had to help move freshman into our dorm (all mentors and RAs help first year students move in and it is the best thing ever).

My arms were already sore from moving my own things in the day before, so lifting heavy boxes was not as easy as I thought it would be. It was definitely a work out, and I loved it. I remember when I moved in last year how great it was to have everyone help move stuff up to my room so this year was a nice way for me to pass on the blessing. I got to meet both of my mentees, as well! I'm super excited to get to know them better this year!

Saturday night, the staff in Beckett had a welcoming ceremony for all of the new freshman. It's a time to have fun and get to know their units, but it's also a time to explain the rules (in a fun way using skits). There was plenty of singing and dancing and it was a lot of fun to watch again from a different perspective.

My mom stayed overnight so she could go to the chapel service this morning. Her, Glenn, and I went to Starbucks for breakfast.

Yeah, I brought my own almond butter to put on top and it was delicious.

The church service was amazing and was on God's grace and mercy when it comes to what we give Him. It really spoke to me, as I am somewhat of a perfectionist and don't always feel like what I give Him is good enough, even when it is the best I can do (which I think is never good enough). It was refreshing to hear that even when we don't feel like what we offer is good enough, even if it is all that we can offer, it is good enough to Him.

My mom went to lunch with Glenn and I before she left. The goodbye wasn't as hard as it was last year for me. It's not because I won't miss seeing my family every day, but because I made it through last year without a ton of homesickness and I'm able to keep up with my family on social media. I know it's not the same, but it lessens the homesickness a lot.

I spent the rest of the afternoon hanging out in my room blogging and resting before going to dinner with Glenn, Rachel, and Andrew. After dinner, all of the mentors had a scavenger hunt that took us all over campus. It took my group around 2 hours to complete, but we weren't the last to finish. :D

The rest of the night, Rachel and I talked until 11:15 and then realized we should probably go to sleep. I love it when I get caught up in talking to someone for so long that I lose track of time.

Here are some pictures from last week to entertain you even further.

We went to the Compassion Exerpience at my church. It was an audio led tour through a trailer that was decorated to show the life of a child who was helped by Compassion International. My family currently provides for a girl from Columbia and I love reading the letters she sends to us.

Katie and I got a dresser from my grandparents (it's over a hundred years old!) and Tigger had to make himself cozy.

Pumpkin protein pancakes plus assorted toppings.

My dad and I went to a new cafe near my house and I got the fruit medley, quinoa mexican salad, and hummus + veggies. It was all really good and comparable in price to Panera.

After lunch, my dad and I went to the Yankee Candle store and got four new fall scented candles. I can not wait to come home and smell the amazingness of fall.

My "Last Supper": Grilled chicken, sweet potato, green beans, and avocado. We also had homemade ice cream for dessert, but I devoured it before I had a chance to take a picture.

Diamond was definitely praying that I didn't have to leave.

Did anyone else move in this weekend?

If you've already started college, how is it so far?

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page