top of page

Sophomore Year Wrap-up


Another one bites the dust...

I'm sorry if I just got that song stuck in your head. But not really.

So yeah. I guess I'm a junior in college now. Crazy. The fact I'm half-way through my college career makes me extremely excited and terrified at the same time...mostly excited, though. (:

Since I love consistency, I thought I would piggyback off of last year's recap of my freshman year with a recap of my sophomore year...you know...since I'm older and wiser.

I asked you all to ask my questions, so I will start with answering those before I say anymore.

What parts of freshman year did you miss and what was better about being a sophomore?

There are several things about freshman year that I missed.

1.) Being in awe of college. As a freshman, everything is exciting--your classes, your dorm room, your professors, the dining hall...heck...even your bathroom is exciting. Once you're a sophomore, the whole novelty of college has worn off and everything is looks less shiny. I kind of miss having that excitement and outlook at college, honestly.

2.) Being a "blank slate". When you come into college as a freshman, you know nothing. Even if you think you know what college is going to be like...you don't. You come in and all of a sudden, you're surrounded by professors and upperclassmen that know so much more than you, and you realize everything you thought you knew is literally nothing. Not going to lie, there's a sort of freedom in not knowing anything as you have a lot of room to grow, as well as a lot of room for mistakes.

As a sophomore, you're basically just a glorified freshman. You still have a lot to learn, but you're starting to understand college.

Several things I loved about being a sophomore...

1.) Cultivating friendships. YAY YOU ACTUALLY KNOW PEOPLE. Sophomore year for me was all about creating depth in my relationships from freshman year. I got to know a couple of people really well this year and it was so, so good.

2.) College actually kind of makes sense. You start to understand how classes work, how the dining hall works (and you actually know what's good and what's not), how to study to get good grades (hopefully), and know how to get around campus and not get lost.

How has your perspective on college changed now that you are older?

Like mentioned before, college is no longer "shiny" and new. Now it has a lot of rough edges and is old news. It's like, "Oh yeah, you're still in college. Yay. You're pursuing your career." I guess my perspective on college has changed from it simply being a place to go and learn while I'm not at home, but to a place that I could call home...and that's weird. It's weird because I know I won't be able to call college home forever, but I also know I won't be able to call my home with my family home forever, either. Ugh...

What were your biggest highs and lows from this year?

My biggest high from this year was passing my Upper Divisional Hearing--performing 10 minutes of music for all of the music division faculty--and officially being accepted into the music program!! :D

My biggest low was getting the lowest grade on a test my entire college career...it was quite a bummer. I'm so lucky to have friends that continually remind me that I am not defined by my grades or how well I perform...yeah...I'm lucky to have them as my friends. (:

What classes did you take this semester? And which one was your favorite?

This past semester, I took Spanish, Philosophy, Music Theory III, Piano Pedagogy, Ear Training III, and Keyboard Literature. Overall, I really loved Philosophy because I had never taken a philosophy course before. Also, my professor was great and really loved the subject--which made it fun to learn.

What are you most looking forward to about your junior year?

Most definitely living in a Lodge (basically an apartment) with five other girls instead of living in a dorm. I love the dorm I lived in the past two years, but I miss having a kitchen and space to just relax and breathe a little bit.

What is your usual breakfast?

Oatmeal with cinnamon, chia seeds, some sort of fruit--usually apple, blueberries, or banana--and almond butter in a mug (preferably). And coffee and lots of water.

What are the three things you learned this year?

1.) I need to love people more. A lot more, actually.

2.) I'm still learning this, but I've been able to handle it a bit better this year: GRADES DO NOT DEFINE YOU AS A PERSON.

3.) I STINK at melodic dictation in Ear Training...like...wow...I could never get all of the measures..ever.

Alright, now onto the recap. This past year, I've learned so much--not just academically, but about myself and relationships as well. Academically, I've gotten better at letting things go and not getting so caught up in them that I forget to socialize and allow myself to rest. About myself, I've learned I need eight hours of sleep, three meals a day, I study better standing up, and I love to pray out loud. In terms of relationships, I've learned I can make more time for others, it's the best thing in the world to be in love, watching documentaries is way better with friends, and I love to be completely open and honest with other people.

Here are some highlights from this past year...

Moving into my dorm room with the help of my family. :D

Being at college with my brother. <3

That one time a foot was inches away from my head.

Practicing TKD with friends!

Practicing TKD with Arlene Limas--Olympic TKD gold medalist. :O

Rooming with these two + unpictured Abby

Washington DC with the Chorale to sing at the Young Voters Summit.

Chorale tour to Tennessee where we got to stay at a host home that had this view in their backyard.

Eating curry with my curry. ;)

My roommates know me too well...

Spending time with Rachel and her family

When these two came to visit me at IWU. <3

Being angelic.

But not really.

When I got to meet Belle. <3

When we both realized we can not pull off man sprouts.

Getting together with my future roomies! :D

Drinking fancy coffee with my sister

Being fancy

Loving and being loved by this man. <3

Yeah...this year was pretty great.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page