top of page

Our Engagement Story {6/2/16}


First off, I want to thank everyone for all of the love, support, and encouragement you have given Andrew and I since our engagement. We are so incredibly blessed to have all of you in our lives.

Secondly, I have had many people ask me about how we got engaged and I feel bad because I always feel like I never have the right words to describe the moment correctly. So, with that being said, I thought writing it out would help clarify my thoughts and give a better version of Andrew and my engagement story.

Because this story is not just about me, I asked Andrew to write out his side of the story. (: Along with his side of the story, I will be interjecting with my own thoughts in italics.

On June 2, our 17 "month-aversary," I took Anna on a walk around center (Ukarumpa).

I had asked the day before if we were going to do anything special on our 17 “month-aversary”, and he said, “I don’t know…hang out?” This is so unlike him and I started to grow a bit suspicious that something was going to happen.

I had organized several people to help me out with the proposal ahead of time, so my family as well as a few community members were already at the location I had chosen, setting it up.

Andrew’s parents went on a walk around 9am. It was a beautiful day, so I didn’t want to read too much into their walk, but I was already a tad suspicious. When Andrew asked me if I wanted to go on a walk, I, of course, said yes.

The spot was called Lutheran Hill, and it overlooks part of the center and is a pretty, wooded, and grassy area that set up nicely for such an event. As Anna and I arrived there around 10:00 in the morning, my helpers had used a supplied plethora of flower blooms to set up a cross-shape in the grass with a wrapped gift box in the center of the cross.

As we walked around center, Andrew kept on checking his watch and instead of being indecisive on where we should go (both of us are indecisive and never know which way to go), he made all of the decisions with confidence. Guys….he had this whole thing planned down to the very minute. As we turned to head back to Lutheran Hill, I saw the box in the grass. I initially thought it was a picnic and thought that was a super cute idea. At this point, I wasn’t sure if this was actually just a 17-month anniversary gift or if he was about to propose. My heart was beating so fast, but I didn’t want to get my hopes up and feel majorly disappointed if he wasn’t going to propose.

Anna asked me what it was, and I said that I thought it might be her 17-month gift.

My heart was beating so fast, but I didn’t want to get my hopes up and feel majorly disappointed if he wasn’t going to propose. When I got over to the box, I noticed the cross made of flowers and in that moment, I realized he was about to propose. I mean..come on…a CROSS MADE OF FLOWERS. HOLY COW.

I told her to open it, and as she did, I took a knee behind her and brought the ring out from my pocket. As she turned around, I asked her if she would marry me, to which she confidently replied, "Yes."

I barely had time to register what was in the box before I realized he was beside me on his knee with a box. When I realized he was on his knee it’s almost like my whole life flashed before my eyes—every girl imagines this moment and here it was and I savored the moment for only a half second before my brain was like, ANNA!!! LOOK AT YOUR FUTURE HUSBAND!!! So of course I turned and looked at him and then at the beautiful ring he had in his hand. These pictures say it all.

We prayed together before she spotted the hidden photographers I had planted, and to whom I told to come out.

Hehe. Spotted.

A few of my friends and my family all emerged from where they had been hiding in the bushes nearby, and we celebrated together. Inside the gift box had been a bilum (Papua New Guinean traditional handbag/purse) I had designed and had made for her with her name woven into it.

Additionally, I had put together a small photo album entitled "Our Story" and which included pictures of Anna from her childhood, among her family and friends, and with me as her life progressed. On the last page, I included my proposal and left her space to write in her answer.

As I read the book, I couldn’t help but get teary. He loved me so, so much even with all of my struggles and weaknesses. He captured my growth as well as our own growth as a couple, and that brought me so much joy. How on earth did I find this guy?!?

The more I think about our relationship, the more excited I become to get to spend the rest of my life with this guy. Seriously…every day he reminds me of how much he loves me and cares for me. He assures me each and every day that I am valuable, beautiful, and desirable. He pursues me in small ways, like buying me flowers “just because” and writing notes to me—both cheesy and serious…but mostly cheesy because that’s how we roll. (; But he also pursues me in large ways, like showing me the kind of love Christ has for me and for others, and through that, the way Christ pursues me. I never thought I would meet someone like you, Andrew…but I’m so glad I did. Here’s to a lifetime of growth, learning, and joy.

For further enjoyment, here are some staged pictures we took after the actual proposal...by the way, they told me to look shocked.

I'm totally cut out to be an actress.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page